The Overnightscape Underground

your late night radio trip

Thursday, March 15, 2012

Blind Duncan’s Blues, Chapter 3: Cat Food (3-15-12)

5:04 – Blind Duncan’s Blues by Arthur Jaz (aka Shambles)
This is my first novel, Blind Duncan’s Blues, which I completed in 2004 and am now releasing here upon an unsuspecting public. Blind Duncan’s Blues is a novel consisting of interrelated short stories about a boy named Duncan Pierce. It covers various incidents in Duncan’s life, ranging from the age of eighteen months through about eleven years. There are eighteen chapters in all, which will be released sporadically on Read by the author.

There are certain autobiographical elements to this book, but they mainly consist of general impressions of what it was like to be a child in the early 1980s in Illinois. I never had an older brother who made me eat cat food; my parents had a much happier and stronger marriage than Duncan’s own folks; none of my teachers ever made me wear a dunce cap. The situations that arise for Duncan from being in a large family (as well as a dysfunctional one) I had to either steal from other people’s experiences or fictionalize entirely.

However, I did start writing stories at an early age, and I did play Santa Claus one year in the Christmas program. Most of the rest is fictionalized.

I am currently working on a sequel, Bentleyville Tigers, which will be completed one of these days.

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 United States License.
Attribution: by Arthur Jaz (aka Shambles) – more info at

Released March 2012 on The Overnightscape Underground (, an Internet talk radio channel focusing on a freeform monologue style, with diverse and fascinating hosts.

posted by Shambles at 4:54 pm filed in audiobooks,Mar12,Shambles  

1 Comment »

  1. I’m enjoying this audio read 😉 Thanks!

    Comment by Carrie Michel — April 14, 2012 @ 12:46 pm

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Powered by WordPress